|My mailbox is getting full, what do I do?|
If you are using webmail to check your email, make sure you click the "logout" button when you are finished checking email. Doing this will delete any messages in your trash older than 30 days.
You can manually delete all of your messages in your trash from your "Mailboxes" page by clicking "Empty" at the top of the page. If you do not see a box with your trash size and an "Empty" button, then your trash is already empty. Please delete messages you no longer need, such as spam or email not necessary for work.
Checking your mail using IMAP with a mail program like Outlook
When you mark an item on an IMAP e-mail server for deletion, the item is displayed in strikethrough text in the header list. However, the item is not removed from the IMAP mail server until a purge command is used.
You can configure Microsoft Outlook so that when you switch between folders, any items you have marked for deletion are purged from the IMAP mail server.
Checking your mail using POP with a mail program like Outlook or Apple Mail
Your mail program may be setup to leave messages on the server when you check your email. In this situation, even when you delete messages in your mail program, a copy is left in your mailbox on the server. These messages start to build up, filling your mailbox on the server. When this happens, your mail service may become slow and you may not be able to receive emails sent to you.
To keep your email account working well, we suggest deleting old messages on the server. The easiest way to accomplish this is to change your mail program's POP settings to not leave messages on the server. Alternatively, you can set your email program to delete messages on the server older than 10 days, providing you with a temporary email back-up that won't build up. In other words, make sure your settings do not say "Leave messages on server."
If you are currently using IMAP to access your email, please delete messages you no longer need, such as spam or email not necessary for work. And, make sure your settings will empty deleted messages when you quit, or after a few days.
If you find you still cannot reduce your mailbox size, please contact us.
« go back
©1999-2003 emphasys technologies